Monastery Of Saint Mary Of Arouca

The Monastery of Saint Mary of Arouca was founded in the 10th century. It began as a men's monastery, but in the middle of the 12th century it was handed over to the Benedictine nuns and has been exclusively for women since then. This monastery was the home of D. Mafalda, daughter of D. Sancho I and beatified in 1792.

Monastery of Saint Benedict of Vitoria

The Monastery of Saint Benedict of Vitoria is located in the center of Porto, in the parish of Vitoria, and was built at the end of the 16th century. Construction ended around a century after it began. It was a long process, which is reflected in the Mannerist and Baroque architecture, as well as in the ornamentation of the church, with works from different periods and of great significance in the context of Portuguese art history.

Convent Of Saint Anthony Of Ferreirim

The Convent of Saint Anthony of Ferreirim is located in Lamego and was founded in 1525 by the Counts of Marialva. In this Franciscan male convent of Manueline design, of which the portico of the church survives, there is also the construction of the cloister, which has since disappeared, corresponding to the first half of the 16th century, when the church and convent complex were built.

Mosteiro De Santa Maria De Salzedas

The Monastery of Saint Mary of Salzedas is located in Tarouca, Viseu, and its construction began in 1168. In its time it was one of the largest monasteries of the Cistercian Order in Portugal.

Monastery Of Saint Mary Of Pombeiro

The Monastery of Saint Mary of Pombeiro is located in Felgueiras and dates back to 1102. The presence of the monastic community in Pombeiro has been documented since 853. The presence of the monastic community in Pombeiro has been documented since 853. It was one of the most important Benedictine monasteries in the Entre-Douro-e-Minho region.

Monastery Of Saint John Of Tarouca

The Monastery of Saint John of Tarouca was the first of the Cistercian Order to be founded in Portugal in the 12th century. The monastic complex was greatly expanded in the 17th and 18th centuries with the construction of new buildings, including a colossal new two-storey dormitory, unique in Portugal.

Monastery of Saint Martin of Tibães

The Monastery of São Martinho de Tibães, in Braga, originated at the end of the 11th century. It grew in privilege and power and became the motherhouse of the Congregation of St. Benedict of the Kingdoms of Portugal from 1567. It reached its maximum splendor in the 17th and 18th centuries.

Monastery Of Saint Savior Of Grijó

The Monastery of São Salvador de Grijó is located in Vila Nova de Gaia and was founded in 922. In 1112 it was moved to its current location. Rodrigo Sanches, son of the illegitimate King Sancho I, died in the vicinity of the monastery in a clash with forces loyal to King Sancho II and as part of the conflict that would lead to the throne of King Afonso III.

Monastery Of Saint Andrew Of Rendufe

The Monastery of Saint Andrew of Rendufe is located in Amares and, although the date of its foundation is unknown, it is estimated to have been founded before 1090. It was one of the main Portuguese Benedictine centers between the 12th and 14th centuries, and after that it went into decline.

Convent of Saint Savior of Vilar De Frades

The Convent of Vilar de Frades is located in Areias de Vilar, Barcelos, and was probably founded in 556 by Bishop St. Martin of Dume, although this is not proven. No traces remain of that time, since the Muslim invasions led to its ruin. The space began as a Benedictine monastery in the 11th century.

Monastery Of Saint Michael Of Refojos

The Monastery of Saint Michael of Refojos, located in Cabeceiras de Basto, is known as the ‘Jewel of the Portuguese Baroque in Terras de Basto’. Although the exact date of its foundation is unknown, it is known that the first document relating to the Monastery dates back to 1122, having received a charter from King Afonso Henriques in 1131.


Frequently Asked Questions

Monasteries and convents are religious buildings that house monastic communities dedicated to spiritual life and religious service.

Monks or nuns live in a monastery, while a convent is the name given to a place where friars and nuns live. The difference lies in the fact that monasteries are generally lived in solitude, while convents are lived in community.